Meta Update: American Literature Term Project (Graded) – Edith Wharton (video)

It’s been a really busy time as the professors have doubled up on all of the required work to be completed before May 6th, the last day of classes.  As I’ve been either researching dualism (how both the mind and the body are both essential for interaction within the world) for Philosophy class, screwing up some journal entries in my Financial Accounting exams and (just today) having one of my American Literature papers torn to bits by the professor thanks to the stress the other two classes were generating (I still have an A average, thank God!), I haven’t had time to relax properly, let alone update The Lone Wolf Blog.  I have tried to create a quick gameplay video regarding Gameloft’s Modern Combat 4:  Meltdown Edition for iOS, but for some reason Gameloft is barring my AirPlay streaming from my iPad to my Mac, showing a static title screen when I attempt it.  Oh well, I guess you’ll have to get your tablet FPS action somewhere else.

Instead, what I’ll do for an update is embed my American Literature project, the result of which I got a perfect grade.  Admittedly I only picked the Progressionist-era Edith Wharton on which to focus a project as her last name was similar to the street where I grew up during my (very bad) high school years in Philadelphia (it should be noted that Wharton Street was named after a different author and philanthropist).  From my research I found her to be very prolific, was able to self-educate herself to an enormous degree despite her wing denied a formal education, had displayed her creativity in designing her own estate (The Mount) and surrounding herself with a vast intellectual and powerful circle, including Henry James, F. Scott Fitzgerald, future president Theodore Roosevelt, among several others.

The short story Wharton wrote which I was supposed to base this video on was The Other Two, a 1904 story about a man who’s experiencing his first marriage with a wife who had already been divorced twice.  Mr. Waythorne faces changes in society and women’s rights in 1900s New York City by his wife’s practice of divorce and child custody (both practices new at that time in real life), as well as constant invasion of his life by her two ex-husbands, one in shock at having to constantly battle for visitation rights and child welfare (rights that men [until around the late 1800s] NEVER had to fight for as women were “meant” to be subservient) The second ex-husband is an immature, irresponsible playboy who needs constant financial advice from Waythorne, of which being a stockbroker and mindful of his obligations to the brokerage firm of which he’s employed, must give.

The story itself is in the public domain, so if you’re interested it should be really easy to find.  As for myself, I have assignments to finish and am in the midst of picking classes for the next semester; once I do this I can then calculate what funds I’ll have available to finally replace the five-year-old machine that I spent hours creating this movie via iMovie (and praying that iMovie X wouldn’t crash on me).  I was thinking on getting a new Mac mini, but Apple and Intel have held up Haswell chipsets for the Mac mini line for so long that Broadwell is more likely.  It’s a question of when though, and we won’t know until the Worldwide Developer Conference (WWDC), which starts on June 2nd.  I’ll save my frustrations regarding Macs for a later date.

In any case, enjoy the movie, and all sources are listed in the credits.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

